Letter to My Future Step-Daughter

Wendy Coop
2 min readDec 29, 2018
Photo by Green Chameleon on Unsplash

Daughter,

First I want you to know I love you and your father very much. Although I have only known you a short time, I have known your father for over 20 years and he is a wonderful man. But, as a teenager, I know you think differently. Dads are embarassing. It’s what they do. Mine did the same. Enjoy your time with your dad because I lost mine at 18.

I wish he was here to see this day — the day when I become a mother and wife in the same day. It is a wonderful day.

There are other things I need you to know.

Know I am not here to replace your biological mother. Although your parents were married before and you have a mother, I am not trying to replace her. I want you to have a great relationship with both of your parents (despite being far away from your dad). Always know that I never intend to try to be her or take her place.

Also know while I may not be a biological parent, I am a type of parent and will do my best to protect you and love you and guide you. The relationship we have will be different from the one you have with your dad. He can pull the “dad” card all day, but I relate to you in a different way. I can bring perspective and trust I will always be here to listen to you and give you the best advice I can.

--

--